‘Damsels in Distress’ is a Potentially Odd or Fantastic Film

This was a very long weekend. I was planning on reviewing ‘American Reunion’ for this blog post, as I’ve been eagerly anticipating this sequel since I first heard of it. Unfortunately, time was against me. This week you’ll be getting another blog post about a movie, albeit this one is more obscure than the last few.

Movie theaters across the nation air different trailers before the film. This form of marketing is for theaters and film studios to target the population they believe there films will do best in. Unless it’s one of the major motion pictures “of the year,” such as an action hero film like ‘The Avengers’ or an animated film (among few others), there is a chance that a trailer one sees in one theater won’t be shown in another. For example, if I had watched ‘The Hunger Games’ in the Greater Los Angeles Area, I may not have come across ‘Damsels in Distress.’

‘Damsels in Distress’ introduces us to three somewhat stuck-up and conservative upper class women attending an East Coast College. These women make it their mission to “save” others from following the barbaric, chauvinistic ways of male counterparts and women who have followed suit. They choose to help people realize their full potential, all the while assisting a suicide prevention center while going to school. The three young women welcome a new member to their group and attempt to show her the ropes, while encountering complications in their personal lives as well. The film stars relatively unknown actresses Greta Gerwig and Analeigh Tipton, with actor Adam Brody being the most recognizable actor in the film.

Films like ‘Damsels in Distress’ are a gamble to create and produce. Analeigh Tipton as Violet appears as a pompous, overly conservative young woman whose intentions are genuine, but she’s going about it the wrong way. Midway through the trailer, the audience is lead to believe there may be a reason feel sorry for her. The film’s set gives it a throwback to the 70’s and 80’s prep school days with only a hint of modern day influences, mostly when referencing the men in the film. A more conservative and older-skewing audience of primarily females is what I’d guess to be the intended audience. The women I’d expect to see at this film admire Greek architecture and have hope for these young women and their struggles with society, which of course includes men.

The critical response for ‘Damsels in Distress’ has been generally positive so far, with a strong 77% of critics liking the film. Having opened this weekend in only 4 theaters, the film is estimated to have raked in a strong $64,000 in revenue, with a 16,000 per screen average, the strongest this weekend. On a $3 million budget and small marketing expense this is great start, and opening in more theaters is very likely. While ‘Damsels in Distress’ may not seem like your type of movie, I suggest watching the trailer before judging the film on the title. The premise has intrigued me in a way I haven’t been with most films of this type and I look forward to seeing it in the future. ‘Damsels in Distress’ is open in select theaters now.

About luisemendez

My name is Luis Mendez and I have received my Bachelor's Degree at the University of Nevada, Reno in Business Management. I also be completed my minor in Information Systems by May 2012. I have had many opportunities through the University of Nevada, Reno to practice and grow in my presentation and writing skills. Through Career Networking programs, I have also submitted my resume to many leading companies and interviewed for potential employment. My goal is to pursue a career in Marketing for a major film or music company and eventually become a Marketing Director.
This entry was posted in Blog Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

