Welcome to Marketing for Films – What’s Going On?

Hello all! My name is Luis Mendez and welcome to my blog. As you can read on my “Me in a nutshell” page & the brief bio to the right of this post, I am a senior at the University of Nevada, Reno studying Business Management and minoring in Information Systems. Don’t let my study emphasis fool you, I’m a big film/music fan and particularly love the Marketing side of Business.

I decided to start this blog because I have a passion for films, in particular, what goes on with the marketing/promotional side. I can’t tell you how many times I have seen a trailers for films on TV and have trouble figuring out what audience they are trying to reach.

Once I graduate, I want to move to Los Angeles and work for a major film studio, preferably in the Marketing field (though I’m not afraid to start from the bottom & move up). For the purposes of this blog, I’m going to publish regular blog posts on films of the week and critique their trailers and promotional efforts. Keep in mind, I am NOT a professional critic and all of this is strictly opinion-based. This is, however, something I’m passion about. As filmmakers and major motion picture studios are passionate about their films as well, I plan to respect their efforts.

If you’re a movie buff and like reading the opinions of others, feel free to comment as I love a good discussion. Stay tuned everyone, we’re about to get started!

About luisemendez

My name is Luis Mendez and I have received my Bachelor's Degree at the University of Nevada, Reno in Business Management. I also be completed my minor in Information Systems by May 2012. I have had many opportunities through the University of Nevada, Reno to practice and grow in my presentation and writing skills. Through Career Networking programs, I have also submitted my resume to many leading companies and interviewed for potential employment. My goal is to pursue a career in Marketing for a major film or music company and eventually become a Marketing Director.
This entry was posted in Intro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

